Aarhus University Seal

P3 - Post-Photography Prototyping Prize

Presentations and award ceremony, organised by Fotomuseum Winterthur; and includes the participation of Geoff Cox

P3 - Post-Photography Prototyping Prize Presentations and award ceremony

May 15, 2018, 2:30pm

The Photographers' Gallery, 16-18 Ramillies Street, London W1F 7LW, United Kingdom.

The Post-Photography Prototyping Prize (P3) is a biennial prize that supports artists, creative technologists and researchers questioning the changing role of photographic media. Initiated in 2016 by Fotomuseum Winterthur in collaboration with the Julius Baer Foundation, P3 sets out to define the field of "post-photography" and to engage with photography’s shifting roles in contemporary culture. In 2018, the second edition of the P3 will encourage interdisciplinarity and collaboration, bringing artists, technologists and researchers together to address specific issues that underlie the changes in contemporary photographic culture. Academics, visual artists and creative coders will join forces to reflect on social and technological transformations within current image production, distribution and consumption. Their joint explorations will result in a series of prototypes—sketches and drafts, unfinished works and proofs of concepts, visualizations and mockups.

The presentation of the prototypes and award ceremony will take place on May 15, 2018 at The Photographers’ Gallery in London.

Public programme

Tuesday, May 15, 2018, 2:30–9pm

Location: Photographes‘ Gallery, London

2:30–3:30pm: Introduction and keynote speech by Joanna Zylinska

3:30–6pm: Presentations by P3 finalists

6–7:30pm: Reception

7:30pm: Award Ceremony

Free entry. Advance registration required, kindly RSVP at digital@fotomuseum.ch.

Finalists and Themes:

Seeing Machines Team members: Katriona Beales (GB) Geoff Cox (GB/DK) Mario Klingemann (DE) Social Exchange Team members: Bogosi Sekhukhuni (ZA) Maddy Varner (US) Nina Wakeford (GB) Generative Photography Team members: Adam Brown (GB) Tabea Iseli (CH) Alan Warburton (GB) Digital Labour Team members: Manetta Berends (NL) Nicolas Malevé (BE/GB) Sebastian Schmieg (DE) The Networked Image Team members: Ramon Amaro (GB) Anthon Astrom (CH) Dina Kelberman (US)

Oops, an error occurred! Code: 20221202114017c7efce9a